PHP - Ok I'm stumped!
Page 1 of 1
sTo0z
[Moderator] Babysitter



Posts: 7449
Location: USA
PostPosted: Wed, 27th Apr 2005 20:54    Post subject: PHP - Ok I'm stumped!
I have a file in this location:

/acs/utilities/Authorization.php

Inside this file I have this line:

require_once("../db/db_connection.php");


This is the db_connection.php location:

/acs/db/db_connection.php



Yet, when I run the file, I get a warning of no such file exists.

Just can't figure it out, any help would be appreciated.


Back to top
Sublime




Posts: 8615

PostPosted: Wed, 27th Apr 2005 21:23    Post subject:
("../db/db_connection.php") you tried changing this to ("acs/db/db_connection.php") ?

meh i dont know PHP prolly donnt look like a tit as usual Smile


Stealth88 and Lod|_Dod| wrote:
"And the winner is.... Sublime!" That fucking kid is always right. Sublime FTW!

http://artpad.art.com/?irqy7s4162w <3 you too
Back to top
Rinze
Site Admin



Posts: 2343

PostPosted: Thu, 28th Apr 2005 10:34    Post subject:
Php includes files from the path the file you open in the webbrowser.

So if you have
/index.php which does include('inc/asd.php');
/inc/asd.php which does include('inc/qwe.php');
/inc/qwe.php

You can open index.php from webhost and it will include asd.php which will include qwe.php, but you can't open /inc/asd.php from the browser, because that would try to include /inc/inc/qwe.php, which doesn't exist.

Solutions are to either always use fixed paths (but then you'd have problems changing webhosts/selling your scripts) or make sure you know which files will be opened from the webbrowser, and put them in the right directories, or use ini_set function to dynamically add include paths to your script.
Back to top
MamaKin




Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun, 15th May 2005 16:19    Post subject:
Are you including Authorization.php into another file in a different DIR? COs, you need to put the URL/DIR in terms of the file you are running and not in terms of the included file.

HTH and maybe makes sense?
Back to top
hempab




Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun, 27th Nov 2005 15:11    Post subject:
put the paths in a file like globals.php like this:

Code:

<?php
   $root = "<path to your htdocs directory>/";
   $subdir1 = $root."subdir1/";
   $subdir2 = $root."subdir2/";
   $include =  $root."inc/";
   $database =  $root."db/";
?>


Then include that globals.php file in your index.php file (if that's what you use). Now, when you want to include the db files, you could do:

Code:

<?php
     require_once($database."db_connection.php");
?>


Hope it helps
Back to top
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
NFOHump.com Forum Index - Programmers Corner
Signature/Avatar nuking: none (can be changed in your profile)  


Display posts from previous:   

Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2.0.8 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group